Research Week 7

For Week 7 I was unable to get in, but I was able to get crit through emails (thankfully). It was suggested that I stop making the dolls as they were too comical, and look into the artists listed below to help me come up with something more serious so as to ensure my message of debunking horror came through in the way I wanted it to.

Louise Bourgeois (1911-2010)

Painter, Printmaker, Sculptor and Installation Artist

It was suggested that I look into her dolls sculptures, but I also noted her work ‘Fillete’ as I’ve studied her work before. ‘Fillete’ actually loosely connects to my earlier work through the use of materials she uses, plaster cast coated in latex. I am considering going back to latex or plaster cast so I decided to still include this whilst also looking at her dolls.

Image result for louise bourgeois fillette

Fillete, 1968

From the works she done surrounding dolls I found one in particular interesting, that piece being ‘Rejection’ from 2001. Made using only fabric, steel and lead, this piece is incredibly interesting to look at. A contemporary artist she used many mediums, but this is one she seemed to keep coming back too. The emotion shown in the face gives us so many questions, yet also so much depth into who she is as an artist and a person.

Image result for louise bourgeois rejection

Rejection, 2001

Mike Kelley (1954-2012)

It was suggested I look at him again, this time at his ‘Half A Man’ pieces. Consisting of stuffed animals, home-knit afghans, and baby blankets this piece looked at adult issues in today’s society. The piece in particular that caught my eye is the piece Frankenstein. I particularly like this piece as I like how cluttered it looks, whilst still playing with his idea of ‘found objects’. The idea of it being called ‘Frankenstein’ whilst being made from lots of different toys is ironic yet also in a way interesting to see how movies and tv can influence artists. I also like how a lot of it looks like faces, and I’m really starting to go with the idea of faces.

Image result for mike kelley half a man

Frankenstein

Paul Thek (1933-1988)

One of the first installation artists Paul Thek is a big name in the art world. I particularly like his piece ‘Warriors Leg’ as it reminds me again of the Uncanny Valley essay and how it plays with people’s uneasiness with anything inhuman appearing human, whether alive or not. Made with wax, metal and leather this piece is very impressive to behold. I also like how it’s only 1 body part, making it appear even more creepy.

Image result for paul thek warriors leg

Warriors Leg, 1966-67

Kiki Smith (1954-)

Kiki Smith usually plays with sex, birth and regeneration. An example of her work which plays with birth is the piece below, Soft Bodies, which I decided to include because of the fact it’s made from paper. It resembles latex, and again connects slightly to the Uncanny Valley with it’s likeness to the human form. In this case it’s not extremely realistic, but personally I think it looks like a shedding of human skin, like how a snake sheds skin.

Image result for kiki smith soft bodies

Soft Bodies, 1992

Patricia Piccinini (1965-)

Related image

Young Family, 2002

Patricia Piccinini’s work seems to really play with the Uncanny Valley quite often. The main piece that caught my eye is her piece Young Family, portraying a human/animal hybrid family, looking eerily real. The fact that this piece actually makes me feel very uncomfortable is evidence of the Uncanny Valley theory being right, despite my many questions concerning it before.

Sources;

https://www.moma.org/explore/collection/lb/about/chronology

https://chamberc.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/artist-profile-7-mike-kelley/

https://www.visualaids.org/artists/detail/paul-thek

http://www.pacegallery.com/artists/442/kiki-smith

http://www.patriciapiccinini.net/works/

Leave a Reply

