Andrew Cooper Artist Talk

Andrew Cooper, a performance artist and sculptor, performed for his artist talk. In his performance he used props such as puppets and masks, which I think he made, to bring awareness to the issues regarding council estate demolition. I wanted to connect with his masks because of the masks I’ve been making, but his passion for the issues he was performing about overpowered the rest of his work. The performance seemed to capture the whole room, and it allowed us to think and connect to the story, and the people the story was wrapped around. His way of capturing the audience’s attention really made me consider how I should make my work that empowering. I think that I definitely should make mine interactive, so it should be able to touch in order to convey the message stronger.

Another piece of work he spoke about is when he performed on the street which allowed many members of the public to participate, which in turn reached a larger audience. He made people converse and approach each other in ways they wouldn’t have in a normal situation.

Sources;

http://andrewcoopers.blogspot.co.uk/

 

Leave a Reply

