Research Week 2

During my one to one crit I was offered up an essay and 2 artists to look at. Both of which is due to their assemblage style works, which mine usually are because of how I transport my work to University. It was also suggested that I read the essay Uncanny Valley by Masahiro Mori due to its similarities to my ideas on how horror movies work.

Mike Kelley (1954-2012)

I was advised to look into his work because of his assemblage pieces due to the fact that most of my work usually consists of assembling small pieces together to make a larger piece. An example of a piece of work in which he has done this is Arena 7 from 1990. I decided to look at this piece in particular because you can clearly see that he has simply found 5 teddy bears and a blanket and laid them out in a way that he think makes them look most effective. It’s also made me think how important composition is in artwork, and how it must have great care taken in. If placed wrong an art piece can sometimes change its message or how it is received. I do find how he has set them out so simply rather interesting, and his idea of using ‘found objects’ in his work sounds like a good idea if I hit a wall.

Image result for mike kelley the uncanny

Yayoi Kusama (1929-)

Yayoi Kusama goes on the practise of making her work in the mental hospital she resides in and then installs them as one large piece in galleries. One such piece is Mirror Room (Pumpkin) which she presented in 1993 at the Venice Biennale, representing Japan. I can see why she has been suggested for me as again I do make large pieces out of smaller pieces. I can already connect her work to mine as for week 4 I plan to make a large mind map piece out of smaller pieces, all of which will be sketches or imagery to compare with each other. I also find her use of mirrors interesting. I may come back to her later.

Related image

The Uncanny Valley by Masahiro Mori (1970)

The uncanny valley focuses on the idea that the more realistic something inhuman becomes the more it becomes unsettling. Although this was written before the more realistic robots we have today it actually explains our sense of uneasiness exactly. It goes on the idea that we can disconnect our uneasiness at robots as long as they dont look human, but it also explains that the uneasiness of seeing a human robot is similar to seeing a prosthetic hand or a corpse. By this idea it makes sense why we’re scared of horror figures because they have human aspects, whilst committing inhumane acts. But this raises the question why are we only scared of serial killers, kidnappers and rapists after they’ve committed the crime? Therefore leading to the answer that we’re not scared of them, we’re scared of what they’ve done or are going to do. This can be connected to my work because I’m looking at figures who have done something.

Image result for uncanny valley diagram

Sources;

http://mikekelley.com/

https://www.britannica.com/biography/Yayoi-Kusama

http://www.comp.dit.ie/dgordon/Courses/CaseStudies/CaseStudy3d.pdf

Leave a Reply

