Week 2 Studio Feedback UNFINISHED

For my first piece I decided to not try and give a complete project, but to give an idea of my complete project. I have decided to make a comical piece out of this idea so I didn’t want to present my work in a dark way. I presented 3 of my finished paintings, which portray Chucky, Jigsaw, and Joker by arranging them on the wall behind a plinth, which held my Plaster Cast masks. I didn’t want to give the impression of it being a complete idea, but I also wanted to show that I had thought over how to present my ideas. Unfortunately I didn’t get chance to take a photo of the work all assembled together as my camera batteries died, but I was able to get a photo of the masks on the plinth.

The reaction overall to my piece was good, and I received compliments about my use of plaster cast as a way to sculpt rather than mold. My plaster masks of Jigsaw and Joker were the most successful overall, being given the most praise which I’m very happy with due to them taking the longest time.

From my first session I was suggested to research;

  • Mike Kelly – His assemblage pieces. Making something big out of lots of small things.
  • Yayoi Kusama – For her assemblage ideas. Also her pop art style of work.
  • Read The Uncanny Valley by Masahiro Mori
  • Consider looking into Drag Queens/Kings and makeup tutorials when looking at make up for Joker etc

I’m also to think more on why I wish to ‘unmask’ these villains, and what I aim to achieve by making a comical piece. I know already that I’ve wound up looking at them because I was researching into what causes nightmares, but I have yet to decide what I want to achieve through this.

My aim is by week 4 to have created a new piece to carry on these ideas.

Leave a Reply

