Claire Potter Artist Talk

Claire Potter is an artist writer who practises in the ways of reading and speaking. Using her body language she controls how the audience feels about her performance. I find her work very stimulating, especially her movements during the readings of her poetry. I found her uncomfortable poses whilst reading the poetry mirrored effectively with her voice.

DSC_0147.jpg

Although I didn’t feel inspired by her performance and find no connection to my work, I do feel more confidant as the simplicity of her work is what made it so effective. Currently my work keeps being deemed to be too simplistic by my peers, which I think makes the work more effective. I think by making a piece too complex you lose the viewers interest too quickly, not allowing them to connect in their own way.

download

From her performance I do think I want to start using words in my work, possibly looking into quotes about the monsters in our minds or poetry relating to my work.

Images sourced from;

http://www.clairepotter.net/i-mages/

Leave a Reply

